The Biblius.ca project

Rollout of the e-book loan system to Québec school libraries

The purpose of this information site is to keep stakeholders in school settings informed of the progress of the project. It is also meant to be a portal for distribution and sharing of material designed to support school libraries’ efforts in electronic book lending and in raising awareness of the format.

Background

In February 2019 the Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur (Ministry of Education and Higher Education, known by its French acronym, MEES) signed a contract with Bibliopresto for the development and rollout of an electronic book-lending platform for Québec school libraries. This process is in line with Measure 17 of the MEES Digital Action Plan for Education and Higher Education, which aims to “encourage the shift from library to learning commons.”

Needs are growing in terms of access to e-books in the school system: use of e-books for in-class teaching, needs of students with disabilities or learning or adjustment difficulties, access to school libraries outside classroom hours, etc. Besides making digital publications available to students and school staff, the Biblius.ca platform will also facilitate the process of purchasing and managing e-book licences in a manner that respects copyright.

Service interruption in summer 2021

The enthusiasm for Biblius is felt. The platform meets several needs and we know that some school boards would have liked to be able to continue to use it without interruption, especially in the context of summer classes. However, we need to take a short and exceptionnal summer break to prepare the next school year.

Projet Biblius.ca

Déploiement du prêt de livres numériques dans les bibliothèques scolaires du Québec

L’objectif de ce site d’information est de tenir les milieux informés de l’avancement du projet. Il se veut aussi une vitrine pour la diffusion et le partage de matériel visant à soutenir l’action des bibliothèques scolaires dans le prêt et la médiation des livres numériques.

Mise en contexte

En février 2019, le ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur (MEES) a signé un contrat avec Bibliopresto afin de développer et déployer une plateforme de prêt de livres numériques dans les bibliothèques scolaires du Québec. Cette démarche s’inscrit dans le cadre de la mesure 17 du Plan d’action numérique en éducation et en enseignement supérieur du MEES, qui vise également à soutenir la transition des bibliothèques traditionnelles vers des carrefours d’apprentissage.

Les besoins pour l’accès aux livres numériques sont grandissants dans le milieu scolaire : exploitation pédagogique en classe, élèves handicapés ou en difficulté d’adaptation ou d’apprentissage (EHDAA), accès à la bibliothèque scolaire en dehors des heures de classe, etc. En plus de rendre les oeuvres numériques disponibles pour les élèves et le personnel scolaire, la plateforme Biblius.ca facilitera également l’acquisition et la gestion des livres numériques dans le respect des droits d’auteur.

Calendrier de déploiement pour l’année 2020-2021

Le calendrier de déploiement de Biblius pour 2020-2021 a été dévoilé ! Le branchement et l’accès aux achats locaux de licences de livres numériques pour tous les centres de services scolaires et commissions scolaires du Québec se feront en trois vagues.

Pour connaître tous les détails, cliquez sur le bouton ci-dessous.